ice cream sandwich

This isn’t really my story to tell. I’m not the one who watched it happen, but that doesn’t mean it’s not worth telling. My boyfriend told me this story casually in the car and I thought it was sweet and small and the type of story I want everyone to hear. So, I’m going to tell it in first person.. like it happened to me.

I was driving down the road and noticed I needed to fill up on gas. I pulled over and remembered I had cash, so I decided to go inside and pay instead of using my card. Outside there was some construction being done. Some guys were working on the electrical cables, others were paving a new part of the road. Honestly, I’m not really sure what they were doing, but they looked busy to me.
Inside the gas station, there was a man standing in front of me in line. He was probably around 50 years old. not fat, but a filled out man. not extremely short, but definitely not considered a tall guy. He was one of the construction workers.
I expected to see him buy cigarettes or dip and a red bull. I mean, that’s what you expect to see almost every guy buy in a gas station.

But instead, he was buying a water and an ice cream sandwich. An ice cream sandwich! A cute, little, older man in a gas station buying a water and an ice cream sandwich! That is the cutest thing I’ve ever heard.

So, even though this wasn’t my story to tell, I hope it brought you some happiness.

Don’t expect the worst in people.
Drink water.
Get some gas.
Go on a road trip.
Buy an ice cream sandwich.

xo,
Aspen

Leave a comment