surrounded by stars

Sometimes I wish I could be a character in a book. A book so long it included all the beautiful and heartbreaking moments of my life. It seems like every time I read a book, I fall in love with the main character. I want to be like them. Their quirks and strange obsessions become my quirks and obsessions. The way they look at love makes me rethink the way I look at love. The books I read heavily influence the kind of thinking I do for the next week or so.

It gets me thinking – If I were a character in a book, how would the author portray me? Would the reader like me? Who would be included in my book? Would I be the main character, or a supporting character to someone else’s life?

That’s an important question to ask yourself every once in a while… Are you the main character to your own story?

I’m trying toΒ reorganize my life. Be the main character. Write my own storyline.

A couple days ago I went to a christmas light show at Rock City in Tennessee. My family and I + Harrison had to get there an hour early since the lines were so long. We stood in line drinking ‘alright’ Starbucks drinks and pretending to enjoy the cheesy christmas songs playing loudly next to us. At one point during the walk, we came across these long white lights that dangled down from the sky to the ground. I felt like I was in the middle of the milky way, surrounded by stars. A small smile crept onto my face. I was 5 again, living in a castle. I turned my head to get a full 360 of the lights and saw Harrison looking down at me. He looked at me like I was the only star in the whole sky. I was his princess in a castle, and his look was all I needed.

Pure admiration looking down at me.

This moment was my book-moment. It was a moment that would end a chapter and leave the reader smiling silently. It’s a moment you see in the movies and say, “I wish a guy would look at me that way.” I’m learning to live for these book-moments.

So go. Be a star. Stand in a castle. Admire christmas lights. Drink ‘alright’ Starbucks drinks. Pretend to love cheesy Christmas songs. or actually love them. Write your own story. Live for book-moments. Admire. and Be the main character.

xo,
Aspen

Leave a Reply

